North Hill Communities Local Area Plan Related Minutes

Below is the portion of the minutes from the June 21, 2021 Combined Meeting of Council relating to the North Hill Communities Local Area Plan.

9.2.1 North Hill Communities Local Area Plan Referral, C2021-0894

An updated redacted public submission was distributed with respect to Report C2021-0894 during Confirmation of Agenda.

The following were also distributed with respect to Report C2021-0894:

- A presentation entitled "North Hill Communities Local Area Plan Referral"; and
- A letter dated June 17, 2021 from The Calgary Rosedale Community Association
- A revised Map 4: Building Scale

By General Consent, pursuant to Section 6(1) of Procedure Bylaw 35M2017, Council suspended Section 78(1)(b) of the Procedure Bylaw in order to hear the Administration presentation prior to the afternoon recess.

Council recessed at 3:24 p.m. on 2021 June 21 and reconvened at 3:52 p.m. on 2021 June 21 with Mayor Nenshi in the Chair.

ROLL CALL

Councillor Chu, Councillor Colley-Urquhart, Councillor Davison, Councillor Farkas, Councillor Farrell, Councillor Gondek, Councillor Keating, Councillor Magliocca, Councillor Sutherland, and Mayor Nenshi

Absent for Roll Call:

Councillor Chahal (rejoined at 3:53 p.m. on 2021 June 21), Councillor Carra (rejoined at 3:54 p.m. on 2021 June 21), Councillor Demong (rejoined at 3:56 p.m. on 2021 June 21), and Councillor Woolley (rejoined at 4:00 p.m. on 2021 June 21).

Council then dealt with the final group of Calgary Award Recognitions.

Council returned to this Item following the completion for the Calgary Award Recognitions.

A clerical correction was noted in recommendation 4 of the Cover Report of Report C2021-0894, by deleting the words "Winston Heights-Mountainview" and by substituting the words "Winston Heights-Mountview".

A clerical correction was noted in Attachment 3, page 1, Section 2 of Proposed Bylaw 18P2020, by deleting the words "numbered 1 to 70 inclusive" following the words "The pages" and by substituting with the words "numbered 1 to 106 inclusive".

Clerical corrections were noted in Attachment 3, Schedule A of Proposed Bylaw 18P2020 to fix minor mapping inconsistencies in each map showing 31 Avenue NE connected to 6 Street NE.

Moved by Councillor Farkas Seconded by Councillor Chu

That with respect to Report C2021-0894, the following be adopted:

That Council refer report CPC2021-0894 back to Administration to incorporate received amendments, re-advertise, and hold another Public Hearing, to return to Council as soon as possible.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

For: (4): Councillor Chu, Councillor Farkas, Councillor Colley-Urquhart, and Councillor Magliocca

Against: (10): Councillor Gondek, Councillor Davison, Councillor Keating, Councillor Demong, Councillor Farrell, Councillor Sutherland, Councillor Chahal, Councillor Woolley, Councillor Carra, and Mayor Nenshi

MOTION DEFEATED

Moved by Councillor Farkas **Seconded by** Councillor Chu

That pursuant to Section 27 (Privileged information) of the *Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act*, Council recess and reconvene in Closed Meeting, in the Council Boardroom, to discuss confidential matters with respect to Report C2021-084.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

For: (7): Councillor Chu, Councillor Farkas, Councillor Keating, Councillor Demong, Councillor Colley-Urquhart, Councillor Chahal, and Councillor Magliocca

Against: (7): Councillor Gondek, Councillor Davison, Councillor Farrell, Councillor Sutherland, Councillor Woolley, Councillor Carra, and Mayor Nenshi

Moved by Councillor Farrell Seconded by Councillor Carra

That with respect to Report C2021-0894, the following be adopted:

That Council:

- 1. Give first reading to Proposed Bylaw 18P2020, the proposed North Hill Communities Local Area Plan (**Corrected** Attachment 3);
- 2. Amend Proposed Bylaw 18P2020, as outlined in Attachment 4;
- 3. Withhold second and third readings of Proposed Bylaw 18P2020 until the North Hill Communities Local Area Plan, as amended, has been approved by the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board; and
- 4. Following third reading of the Proposed Bylaw 18P2020:
 - RESCIND, by resolution, the Centre Street North Special Study and the North Bow Special Study; and
 - ii. REPEAL, by bylaw, the North Hill Area Redevelopment Plan, Crescent Heights Area Redevelopment Plan, Winston Heights-Mountview Area Redevelopment Plan and 16 Avenue North Urban Corridor Area Redevelopment Plan.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

For: (10): Councillor Gondek, Councillor Davison, Councillor Keating, Councillor Demong, Councillor Farrell, Councillor Sutherland, Councillor Chahal, Councillor Woolley, Councillor Carra, and Mayor Nenshi

Against: (4): Councillor Chu, Councillor Farkas, Councillor Colley-Urquhart, and Councillor Magliocca

MOTION CARRIED

That Bylaw 18P2020 be introduced and read a first time.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

For: (10): Councillor Gondek, Councillor Davison, Councillor Keating, Councillor Demong, Councillor Farrell, Councillor Sutherland, Councillor Chahal, Councillor Woolley, Councillor Carra, and Mayor Nenshi

Against: (4): Councillor Chu, Councillor Farkas, Councillor Colley-Urquhart, and Councillor Magliocca

MOTION CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Carra Seconded by Councillor Farrell

That Bylaw 18P2020 be amended in Section 2.2, entitled "Urban Form Categories", by replacing Map 4: Building Scale with the revised Map 4: Building Scale in Attachment 4, Page 3 of 3.

For: (13): Councillor Chu, Councillor Gondek, Councillor Davison, Councillor Keating, Councillor Demong, Councillor Colley-Urquhart, Councillor Farrell, Councillor Sutherland, Councillor Chahal, Councillor Woolley, Councillor Magliocca, Councillor Carra, and Mayor Nenshi

Against: (1): Councillor Farkas

MOTION CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Chu Seconded by Councillor Farrell

That Bylaw 18P2020 be amended in Section 2.2, entitled "Urban Form Categories", by replacing Map 4: Building Scale with the revised Map 4: Building Scale as distributed at today's meeting; and further, correct the minor mapping inconsistencies in each map showing 31 Avenue NE connected to 6 Street NE.

For: (14): Councillor Chu, Councillor Gondek, Councillor Farkas, Councillor Davison, Councillor Keating, Councillor Demong, Councillor Colley-Urquhart, Councillor Farrell, Councillor Sutherland, Councillor Chahal, Councillor Woolley, Councillor Magliocca, Councillor Carra, and Mayor Nenshi

MOTION CARRIED