Growth Plan Consultant

The Calgary Metropolitan Region Board (CMRB) is inviting proposals from consultants to create an integrated and strategic Growth Plan and supporting Servicing Plan for the Calgary Metropolitan Region, as mandated by the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board Regulation. The Calgary Metropolitan Region includes a land area of more than 9,000 square kilometers with more than 1.5 million residents living in its boundaries. Building on the approved Interim Growth Plan (IGP) and the Interim Regional Evaluation Framework (IREF), the qualified consultant will develop and lead a planning process that includes innovative best practices related to land use planning, servicing, public engagement, and others. The qualified consultant will work with the CMRB to define what sustainability means for the Calgary Metropolitan Region, and work to provide policy direction at the regional scale that promotes effective implementation at the municipal scale. The CMRB seeks a process where Board members can compare options, identify trade-offs, and understand benefits through an iterative approach. The ultimate goal of the planning process is to promote the long-term sustainability of the Calgary Metropolitan Region through an informed and implementable Growth Plan.

Full RFP can be found here.

Interim Growth Plan and interim regional evaluation framework

On October 4, 2018 the Board approved the Interim Growth Plan and the Interim Regional Evaluation Framework. These documents have been sent to the Minister of Municipal Affairs for his review and approval.

Welcome to the CMRB

The Calgary Metropolitan Region Board (CMRB) consists of representatives from 10 municipalities mandated to develop a long term plan for managed, sustainable growth in the Calgary Region.

The CMRB was officially established in January 2018, when the new regulation came into effect and is the first provincially-mandated growth management board for the Calgary Region.

Members of the CMRB include:

  • City of Airdrie

  • City of Calgary

  • City of Chestermere

  • Town of Cochrane

  • Foothills County

  • Town of High River

  • Town of Okotoks

  • Rocky View County

  • Town of Strathmore

  • Wheatland County (portion as described in the regulation)